Meet the FilmPhilippines Incentives Deliberation Committee of 2020

Co-Production Incentives
February 10, 2021

Key figures from film, the arts, and government selected the FilmPhilippines grantees for 2020

MANILA, PHILIPPINES, FEBRUARY 9, 2021 — The first three cycles of the FilmPhilippines Incentives Program of the FilmPhilippines Office, which is administered by the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), saw the selection of eight grantees.

Meticulous selection meetings were held for the three cycles, with five esteemed figures in the film industry, the arts, and government service comprising the FilmPhilippines Deliberation Committee:

Cultural Center of the Philippines Vice President and Artistic Director Chris Millado Chris Millado

Chris Millado is the Vice President and Artistic Director of the Cultural Center of the Philippines. He is also the festival director of the Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival since 2012.

National Commission for Culture and the Arts Commissioner for the Arts and Head of the National Committee on Cinema Dr. Roland Tolentino. Photo courtesy of University of the Philippines Diliman

Dr. Roland Tolentino is the Commissioner for the Arts and Head of the National Committee on Cinema of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts. He is a former Dean of the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication.

Philippine Ambassador to Germany Ma. Theresa “Tess” Dizon-de Vega. Photo courtesy of the Embassy of the Philippines in Germany

Philippine Ambassador to Germany Ma. Theresa “Tess” Dizon-de Vega is the recipient of various decorations and awards conferred by past Philippine Presidents. Among her accolades are the Order of Sikatuna-Rank of Dakilang Kasugo (Gold Distinction), Order of Lakandula-Rank of Pinuno (Officer), and Gawad Mabini-Rank of Dakilang Kasugo (Commander).

Cinematographer Marissa Floirendo. Photo courtesy of Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park

Marissa Floirendo, FSC (Filipino Society of Cinematographers), LPS (Lupon ng Pilipinong Sinematograpo) is an award-winning cinematographer. She won the FAMAS Best Cinematography Award for “Muro-ami” and Metro Manila Film Festival Best Cinematography Award for “10,000 Hours.” She is a two-time Gawad Urian Nominee for Best Cinematography for “Ligaya ang Itawag Mo sa Akin” and “Forever.”

FDCP Chairperson and CEO Liza Diño

Finally, FDCP Chairperson and CEO Liza Diño heads the FilmPhilippines Deliberation Committee. As head of the national film agency, Diño is a permanent member of the committee. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the Asian Film Commissions Network (AFCNet) as well as an active collaborator in the ASEAN-ROK Film Cooperation Organization (ARFO) and BPX (Best Practice Exchange), which gathers film agency heads from around the world to brainstorm on best practices in public funding for filmmaking.

In 2020, the FilmPhilippines Deliberation Committee selected four international television series as awardees of the Film Location Incentive Program (FLIP) that gives a 20% cash rebate on qualifying Philippine Production expenditures. It also chose four film projects as grantees of the International Co-production Fund (ICOF) that gives up to PHP 10 million.

The recipients of the FilmPhilippines selective production funds are as follows:

Cycle 1

  • FLIP: “Almost Paradise” of Electric Entertainment, line produced by ABS-CBN Corporation
  • FLIP: “Survivor Russia” of Mastiff Russia, line produced by Philippine Film Studios, Inc.
  • ICOF: “Nocebo” by Lorcan Finnegan (PHP 6.5 million)
  • ICOF: “Kapag Wala Nang Mga Alon (When The Waves Are Gone)” by Lav Diaz (PHP 6 million)

Cycle 2

  • FLIP: “Bionic Max” of Gaumont Animation, line produced by Top Draw Animation

Cycle 3

  • FLIP: “Survivor Israel” of Abot Hameiri, line produced by Philippine Film Studios, Inc.
  • ICOF: “Some Nights I Feel Like Walking” by Petersen Vargas (PHP 6 million)
  • ICOF: “Holy Craft” by Joseph Mangat (PHP 3.04 million)

The FDCP’s FilmPhilippines Office (FPO) is accepting submissions for Cycle 1 of 2021 until March 31 for applications for FLIP, ICOF, and ASEAN Co-Production Fund (ACOF). Cycle 2 is from May 3 to July 30 and Cycle 3 is from September 1 to November 29.

The FPO has made known that new members will be appointed for the three cycles of 2021 to join Diño in the Deliberation Committee. Deliberations are scheduled in April, August, and December.

For more information, visit For inquiries, e-mail the FPO at